Air Travel Update Aug 07 2020


7th August 2020

Quarantine Exemption


Updated List of Approved States Exempt From Quarantine
Passengers arriving on international flights with a COVID-19 Negative certificate carried out in the past 96 hours and whose body temperature is NOT above 37.5° C (99.5°F), do NOT have a persistent cough, difficulty in breathing or other flu-like symptoms, from the 126 countries below will not have to undergo mandatory quarantine.

Updated list as of 7th August 2020; 1100hrs +3 GMT*

Source: Kenya Civil Aviation Authority

  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Angola
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Bhutan
  • Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba
  • Botswana
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Bulgaria
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • China
  • Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Falkland Islands (Malvinas)
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guam
  • Guyana
  • Holy See
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Isle of Man
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Martinique
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • North
  • Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Réunion
  • Russian Federation
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Barthélemy
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Martin
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Suriname
  • Switzerland
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • The United States of America (except for California, Florida and Texas)
  • Timor-Leste
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Viet Nam
  • Zimbabwe

Review of countries from which travelers will not be required to be quarantined upon arrival are subject to change. 

Those required to quarantine will do so at Government designated facility or at their home subject to prevailing guidelines.

Additional Reminders

  • Passengers traveling out of Kenya will be required to abide by the particular travel, health and COVID-19 related requirements of the destination country;
  • Passengers arriving or departing on flights after the curfew, with a valid Air Ticket and Boarding Pass shall be allowed to proceed to their hotels and/or residences;
  • ETG Drivers have authorization from the relevant authorities to conduct airport transfers after the curfew hours; 
  • The additional government measures of wearing of masks, physical distancing, sanitizing will still be applicable and passengers will be guided by the airline or airport staff where required.

COVID-19 Certificate Validity


Kenya Airways: Kenya Airways have revised the COVID-19 certificate validity for all inbound flights to Kenya from 72hrs to 96 hrs. For outbound flights outside Kenya, a COVID-19 certificate is not required unless your country of transit or destination requires one.

Emirates: All passengers aboard any Emirates flights require a negative COVID-19 certificate. The certificate should be done latest 96hrs to the flight departure date.


Travelers Health Surveillance Form

All passengers arriving in Kenya are required to fill in the Travelers Health Surveillance Form by the Ministry of Health in Kenya. Forms must be filled online via this link prior to disembarkation. Passengers will receive a QR code after completing the form and will be required to display it to the Port Health Official for them to be allowed to proceed to arrival immigration.

Kenyan Visa on Arrival

All passengers requiring a Visa to enter Kenya, will need to apply online. Visa application on arrival into Kenya will also be done online. Cash payments for Visas on arrival will NOT be allowed. Visa Cards will however be accepted.

Immigration is discouraging holding any passengers in the PI room. Any passenger denied entry into Kenya will be sent back on the first available flight.


Thank you for your continued support. We will share further updates as they arise. Do reach out to us in case of any inquiries or clarifications.

Travel Industry Accreditation

Stay Up To Date

Subscribe to our newsletter and find out all about our latest and most exclusive deals, just for you!

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it.Privacy Policy